About The Village - historic Loxton
The Village, situated on the shaded banks of the mighty Murray River, was established in 1970 and it’s aim has been to preserve memorabilia, paper based records, photographs, books, artefacts, machinery and buildings as well as other elements of the district’s history.
The site was selected because of its close proximity to Loxton’s Pepper Tree (and there is more than one version of the story of the Pepper Tree.) It is believed to be thought that the tree was planted after the time the original Loxton’s Hut was occupied by William Charles Loxton.
William Charles Loxton was a boundary rider on Bookpurnong Station and a horseman of some note. William lived here with his wife from 1878-1881 in the modest pine-and-pug hut formerly occupied by his aunt, Mrs Howell, and her husband. The area around this hut was known as ‘Loxton’s Hut’ and eventually, just ‘Loxton’. Part of the termite-damaged Pepper tree collapsed in 1997 after a severe windstorm.
In 2019 the Loxton Community Heritage Group established, and is now managing the Village, known as the Loxton Historical Village Management Committee, to maintain the museum and make recommendations to the council, on the running and development of The Village.
The Village has been a regional and State award-winning tourist attraction, recognised for its high quality displays, marketing activities, presentation and customer service.
The Village boasts a dedicated team of approximately 70 volunteers (many of whom have been involved since its establishment), a caretaker/cleaner, shop staff and a part time manager.
Introduce yourself to The Village pets; Ebony, Bibby and Bubby, all Merino sheep.
Above: Some of The Village's many volunteers.
Above: The Village's Pie cart serving pie floaters and hot dogs on Open Days.
Above: Ebony, BIbby and Bubby, are The Village's 3 pet Merino sheep.